Grief is not a single emotion

Grief is the container that holds all of the emotions felt as a result of loss.

Many people equate grief with sadness, but grief is so much more than sadness. We can feel any combination of emotions inside of grief, and all of them are normal.

Grief is not just one emotion. I think western society teaches us that grief is about being sad. Or, it's about being depressed. But, grief is actually a spectrum -- a real plethora of emotions.

So, grief is about anger. It’s about sadness. I’s about regret. It’s about guilt; shame. Those uncomfortable emotions. It’s about joy. It’s about peace and hope. All of these things are a part of your narrative and a part of how you get to the story of who you are and how you are.

  • Sadness
  • Anger
  • Guilt
  • Joy
  • Gratefulness
  • Anxiety
  • Relief
  • Confusion
  • Frustration
  • Numbness
  • Fear
  • Hope
  • Resentment
  • Yearning
  • Envy

Whether you are grieving or learning more about grief to support someone else, remember:

“Anything a person feels inside of their own personal grief is correct” Megan Devine